RECIPE: Blackberry Lemon Muffins

IMG_2771

Every now and then, a recipe idea will hit you and you’ll have to stop what you’re doing and make it.  For me, this happened when my boyfriend mentioned making muffins, and before he finished telling me his story, I had already taken out my mixer along with the flour and sugar.  I looked up a quick muffin recipe that I could make with what I had, and improvised a bit as well.  They turned out pretty great for my first muffins made from scratch!  This recipe made 6 large muffins, but I’m not exactly sure how many smaller ones that would be equivalent to.

What You’ll Need:

1 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 t salt

2 t baking powder

1/3 cup milk (I used almond milk, which worked just fine!)

1/3 cup vegetable or canola oil

1 egg

1/2 t vanilla

1 lemon (both zest & juice)

1 cup blackberries

First, preheat the oven to 400° before you do anything else.  Then, grease the muffin trays (or line them with paper liners, your call).  Then, add the dry ingredients to your mixing bowl.  Next, in a separate measuring cup, add the oil, milk, and egg.  If you measure out 1/3 cup of either milk or oil, crack the egg, and fill it to the 1 cup mark with the remaining liquid, your measurements should all be right.  I added the vanilla to the cup just to keep the liquids together.  Next, I zested the lemon right into the flour/sugar mix, but added the juice to the other liquid ingredients.  Honestly, I have no reason why I did that, since I made up this step myself and it wasn’t in the recipe I found.  The next step is to add the liquids to the dry ingredients and mix it, so it really doesn’t matter where you put the lemon as it all gets combined and doesn’t require measuring.  The batter should end up having a smooth, thick texture.

For the blackberries, I used frozen berries (that had grown from the plant in my backyard, I promise they were fresh once upon a time).  I simply ran them under water until they started to defrost and finished defrosting them in the microwave and drained any extra liquid.  I added them into the mixer and turned it on low for about 30 seconds, until my batter turned purple and lots of the berries had been smashed.  If you don’t want that to happen, fold the berries in with a spatula, and probably use a little less so the muffins won’t be full of chunks.  Spoon them into your trays, then bake them in the oven for 20 minutes, and they should come out perfectly!

Leave a Reply

