RECIPE: Caramelized Onion & Spinach Quinoa

Quinoa is one of the best things to make when you’re not really feeling like cooking. It’s super easy and pretty quick, but I’ve always made it the same way, so I was looking for a new recipe. I searched Pinterest for a while and I didn’t come up with much, so I had to brainstorm a little with some of my favorite ingredients. 

What You’ll Need:

1 cup quinoa

2 cups water

1 T coconut oil

3 T butter

1 1/2 – 2 onions (depending on size)

1 cup fresh spinach

1/3 cup feta cheese

1 t oregano

1 t parsley

Salt & pepper to taste

First, place the quinoa and water in a small saucepot along with the coconut oil and bring it to a boil. I like to add the coconut oil since it helps to keep the quinoa from sticking to the pot once it’s cooked. While waiting for it to boil, slice the onions. I cut the onions in half and sliced them into strips. Make sure you didn’t forget to check on the quinoa and see if it’s boiling yet! If it is, then lower the heat as far as it’ll go. Let it sit for about 15 minutes and then it’ll be ready. Then, get a large pan and melt the butter in it on medium heat. Once that’s melted, add the onions and stir them around. At this point, add your spices so the flavors have time to cook in. 

By now the quinoa should be about cooked. The onions should be getting brown and more translucent, so they’re ready for you to add the spinach. I just grabbed a large handful and chopped it up a bit to avoid having large leaves, so I didn’t measure exactly. I put a lid on the pan and let the leaves cook up a little. Once they were getting nicely wilted, I put a splash of olive oil in the pan, mixed it all together, added the quinoa, and mixed it together again. I let it sit for a few more minutes before serving it. I removed it from the heat and added the feta to try to prevent it from melting, and it worked out perfectly. I realized while eating it that a little bit of lemon juice might’ve been a nice touch, so I’ll definitely be trying that next time I make this!

Leave a Reply

