RECIPE: Parmesan Couscous

IMG_2709I’ve tried a few couscous recipes before, and while they’ve all been pretty easy to make, none of them have really wowed me.  I always end up with dry couscous that’s sort of bland, and it ends up being fine because it’s served with other things, but it’s just not great.  So, I decided to combine a few recipes with some ideas of my own and I ended up making my favorite couscous so far!

What You’ll Need:

1 cup water

1 cup white wine

1 T butter

1 1/4 cups couscous (or a standard 10 oz. package)

1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 T olive oil

1 T fresh lemon juice

1/4 t salt

1/8 t pepper

1/4 t garlic powder

1/2 t dried parsley flakes

I started this recipe by adding the water, wine, and butter to a small sauce pot and bringing it all to a boil.  If you’re not into cooking with wine, you could use a chicken or vegetable broth instead, or even just 2 cups of water.  I will say it added an awesome flavor, but you could do without it if you wanted to.  In the meantime, I measured out the Parmesan cheese and combined it with the salt and pepper (which I honestly didn’t measure, I just eyeballed it), and also the garlic powder and parsley.  I didn’t measure those either since they weren’t in the recipe I was basing this off of and I was sort of just winging it.  I’m estimating about how much I think I used.  Then in a separate little bowl, I combined the olive oil and lemon juice.  Since I was using a fresh lemon and a lemon squeezer (which is totally a kitchen utensil that everyone should have), it was hard to measure the lemon juice exactly, but I did my best.  Basically, the juice of half a lemon is about a tablespoon, so that should do the trick.

By the time I had measured out all my other ingredients, the pot was boiling.  I added the dry couscous, stirred it, and turned off the burner.  I covered the pot with the lid and let it sit for about 5 minutes until all of the liquid was absorbed and the couscous was fluffy.  After that, I uncovered it, fluffed it a little with a wooden spoon, and added the olive oil, lemon juice, and all the dry ingredients.  I mixed it until it seemed like all of the couscous had come in contact with some cheese.  Since I wasn’t ready to serve it immediately so I added about a 1/4 cup of water and covered it again so it would stay fresh, and served it about 20 minutes later.  It was still fluffy after sitting for that time, and it would’ve been good right tout of the pot too.  It was definitely the best couscous recipe so far, and I’ll absolutely be making it again!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

