RECIPE: Pan-Seared Salmon

IMG_2710Cooking new things is always really exciting to me, so I decided that I would try making salmon for the first time.  I really love salmon and wanted to make it myself, in a new way that I hadn’t had before.  Previously, I’ve had it either baked with dill and lemon or grilled with pesto.  Both are delicious, but I wanted to do something a little different with my own twist.  For anyone who’s eaten anything I’ve cooked, usually that twist is garlic.  I served my salmon with Parmesan couscous and some tzatziki that I had in the fridge, and it all went really well together for a great dinner.

What You’ll Need:

2 salmon filets

2 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)

1 T dill

1 T lemon juice

2-3 T olive oil

salt & pepper to taste

1/2 T butter

I started this off by placing the 2 salmon filets in a large ziploc bag.  Then, I finely chopped 2 cloves of garlic and added it to the salmon.  I shook in some dill (about a tablespoon), a few shakes of salt and pepper, and added the juice of 1/2 lemon along with a splash of olive oil.  I closed up the bag and mushed it all around to make sure the salmon was completely coated, and placed it in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes while I finished the episode of Friends I was watching.

After that, I heated a large pan on medium heat and added about a half tablespoon of butter along with a little more olive oil.  Once this was hot, I gently placed the salmon in the pan and made sure all the garlic and spices made it from the bag to the pan as well.  I covered it for about 5ish minutes, until I notice that the bottom had browned nicely and the top and sides looked to be that peachy-pink color of cooked salmon.  I used a large spatula to gently flip the salmon so the other side could brown and to make sure the inside was cooked through.  I put it on low heat for about 10 more minutes, and it was done!  The garlic was browned (but not burned) and the salmon was cooked through (but not dry).  I think this was largely in part to me keeping it covered the whole time so the moisture stayed inside.

I served it immediately while it was still hot and it was great!  My first attempt at salmon went really well, and I’ll probably cook it this way again in the future.

One Comment Add yours

  1. This looks so delicious 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

